Holiday Schedule 2017–18 and 2018–19

Date: May 24, 2017
To: All Faculty & Staff
From: Kelly Hannah-Moffat, Vice-President, Human Resources & Equity
Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost
CC: HR Divisional Offices
Re: Holiday Schedule 2017–18 and 2018–19

In planning the University’s holiday schedule, we make every effort to provide a two-week closure in December, knowing how all of us appreciate the opportunity to have two full weeks. We also make every effort to match the closure schedule set out by the school boards of the Greater Toronto Area.

Unfortunately, due to academic programming issues, including exam timetables, we were unable to schedule a two-week break for 2017–18. We do want to remind everyone that this does not preclude employees (in particular, colleagues with children who will be on school holiday) from requesting to use existing vacation entitlement.

Following consultation with the registrars’ offices, we are delighted to report that there will be a two-week closure over the December break for 2018–19.


2017–18


July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018

Holiday: Date(s):
Canada Day Monday, July 3, 2017
Civic Holiday Monday, August 7, 2017
Labour Day Monday, September 4, 2017
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 9, 2017
Christmas / New Year Thursday, December 21, 2017 to Tuesday, January 2, 2018 inclusive
Family Day Monday, February 19, 2018
Good Friday Friday, March 30, 2018
Victoria Day Monday, May 21, 2018

2018–19


July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019

Holiday: Date(s):
Canada Day Monday, July 2, 2018
Civic Holiday Monday, August 6, 2018
Labour Day Monday, September 3, 2018
Thanksgiving Day Monday, October 8, 2018
Christmas / New Year Monday, December 24, 2018 to Friday January 4, 2019 inclusive
Family Day Monday, February 18, 2019
Good Friday Friday, April 19, 2019
Victoria Day Monday, May 20, 2019

Summer hours begin on July 1 and end at Labour Day annually.